David L. Boliek Jr. (Dave)

Elected 2019; term ends 2023

Fayetteville, NC

Boliek is an attorney and partner with Williford, Crenshaw, Boliek and Frangakis LLP in Fayetteville. His practice focuses on litigation and consults on healthcare issues, specifically those in the allied health field. Previously, he spent several years as an award-winning journalist, political consultant and public relations professional. Boliek also previously served as CEO of a government contracting firm and as a prosecutor in Cumberland County. He earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in journalism from UNC-Chapel Hill and J.D. with honors and MBA from Campbell University. His community leadership roles have included serving on the UNC-Chapel Hill Board of Visitors, Boy Scouts of America and youth sports. He currently serves as chair of the Southeast Regional Area Health Education Center and as an elder at Highland Presbyterian Church in Fayetteville.

John P. Preyer (John)

Vice Chair
Elected 2019; term ends 2023

Chapel Hill, NC

John Preyer is the Co-Founder and President of Restoration Systems, an environmental company specializing in wetland, steam, nutrient, and habitat mitigation, headquartered in Raleigh. The company has over 80 mitigation projects in twelve states, including the first water quality bank to reduce nutrient loading ever approved in the country.

He has been a member of the UNC Institute of the Environment Board Visitors since 2011 and previously served on the University Board of Visitors from 2012 to 2016.

Before founding Restoration Systems in 1998, Preyer worked in the United States Senate on environmental and defense issues as Legislative Director for Senator Lauch Faircloth of North Carolina.  From 2002-2006, Preyer served on the Board of Directors of the North Carolina Coastal Federation, a non-profit environmental group advocating for coastal rivers, creeks, and wetlands. He worked closely on the formation of the North River Wetland Preserve, the largest saltwater marsh restoration project in North Carolina.

Preyer graduated from UNC in 1990 with a B.A. in political science. He is married to Joanie Lacy Preyer from Winston Salem, UNC 92’ Journalism. They have lived in Chapel Hill with their two children for the past fifteen years. Preyer embraces the motto Facta, Non Verba.

Malcolm K. Turner (Malcolm)

Elected 2021; term ends 2025

Boston, MA




Teresa Artis Neal (Teresa)

Elected 2019; term ends 2023
Cary, NC

Artis Neal is a media attorney at Trans World Radio in Cary, where she counsels on licensing and compliance matters, and an adjunct professor at Campbell Law School. Previously, she was vice president of business affairs at a Turner Broadcasting subsidiary in Atlanta, Georgia, and general counsel of Capitol Broadcasting Company in Raleigh. In her role at CBC, she had legal and regulatory responsibility for radio and TV stations, web and mobile entities, a satellite services provider and a Triple-A baseball team. She earned her Bachelor of Arts degree with honors in economics and public policy from UNC-Chapel Hill and her MBA and J.D. from Harvard University. As a student at Carolina, she was a Pogue Scholar, active in Student Government, a resident advisor and a member of the Carolina Union Activities Board, N.C. Fellows and Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. After graduating, she stayed involved at Carolina by serving on the UNC-Chapel Hill Board of Visitors, the General Alumni Association Board, as chair of the Alumni Committee for Racial and Ethnic Diversity, and as a board member for UNC-TV. In 2016, Artis Neal was awarded Carolina’s Davie Award in recognition of extraordinary service to the University. As a current board member of UNC Rex Healthcare, she chairs the Quality, Patient Safety and Human Resources Committee and serves on the Audit and Compliance Committee.

Robert P. Bryan III (Rob)

Elected 2021; term ends 2025
Charlotte, NC




R. Gene Davis Jr. (Gene)

Elected 2019; term ends 2023
Raleigh, NC

Davis is an attorney at Gene Davis Law PLLC in Raleigh and has more than 20 years of experience in real estate law, business formation, estate planning and estate administration. Davis earned his Bachelor of Arts with distinction in speech communications and political science and his J.D. from UNC-Chapel Hill. From 1989 to 1990, Davis served the UNC community as president of the UNC Association of Student Governments and as speaker of the UNC Student Congress. In law school, Davis was a founder and executive editor of the Banking Law Institute. He was also an editor for the Journal of International Law and Commercial Regulation. Davis was inducted into the Order of the Grail, Order of the Old Well and the James E. and Carolyn B. Davis Law School Honorary Society in recognition of his service to the University. He currently serves as vice chair of the North Carolina Museum of Art’s board of trustees and as chair for the North Carolina Housing Finance Agency board of directors.

Perrin W. Jones, MD (Perrin)

Elected 2021; term ends 2025
Greenville, NC




W. M. “Marty” Kotis III (Marty)

Elected 2021; term ends 2025
Greensboro, NC




Allie Ray McCullen (Allie Ray)

Elected 2015; term ends 2023
Clinton, NC

Allie Ray is a lifelong resident of rural Sampson County and lives on the family farm in Keener, NC.  He attended NC State University and was inducted into the Phi Eta Sigma Fraternity.  He transferred to UNC-Chapel Hill where he graduated in 1968 with a B.A. in history.  Allie Ray is owner of The McCullen Group, Inc. which is a real estate sales and appraisal firm located in Clinton, NC.  Over the years, he has served on a number of state and federal Boards and Commissions including the State Banking Commission and the USDA-A.S.C.S. Committee.  Locally, he has been a member and Chairman of the Board of Sampson Community College.  Until recently, he served as a member of the Sampson Regional Medical Center Board of Trustees (18.5 years) and as Chairman for 9 years.  He is currently a member of the Sampson County Board of Health.

Ralph W. Meekins Sr. (Ralph)

Elected 2019; term ends 2023
Shelby, NC

Meekins, Sr. is an attorney with Teddy, Meekins & Talbert, PLLC in Shelby, NC and he has practiced for over 33 years, primarily in the area of personal injury and workers compensation. He is board certified in civil trial advocacy by the National Board of Trial Advocacy and is also a board certified mediator. Meekins earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology from UNC in 1983 and his J.D., with distinction from Campbell University School of Law in 1986. He was a basketball manager for the Carolina men’s basketball team that won a national championship in 1982 and he served as head basketball manager in 1983 for the Tar Heels. He has served on the Board of Governors for the North Carolina Bar Association, a State Bar Councilor for the North Carolina State Bar, and he presently serves as a trustee for the North Carolina Bar Association’s Health Board Trust. He has also served as a chair for the Cleveland County YMCA, the Dover Foundation YMCA, and for the Cleveland County Community Foundation. He recently served four years on the UNC-Chapel Hill Board of Visitors.

Vinay B. Patel (Vinay)

Elected 2021; term ends 2025
Charlotte, NC




Lamar G. Richards (Lamar)

Ex-Officio Member 2021-2022
Student Body President
Columbia, SC




Ramsey R. White (Ramsey)

Elected 2021; term ends 2025
Washington, D.C.




Assistant Secretary
Clayton D. Somers (Clayton)

UNC-Chapel Hill
Office of Public Affairs
310 South Building – CB #9150
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-9150

Executive Assistant to the Board of Trustees

UNC-Chapel Hill
Office of Public Affairs
03A South Building – CB #9150
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-9100